Save As

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Reference > Workspace, Toolbars and Dialogs > The File Menu >

Save As

Save the current project in another name and/or location and in a different format. You can use this option to switch between the single-file compressed format (HMXZ) and the uncompressed XML format (HMXP, only available in the Professional and Server versions). Both these formats have exactly the same contents, the HMXZ format just packs the component files into a single compressed archive file (zip format).

 

 

flag_green        Modular Projects

When you select Save As.. in a modular project Help+Manual always saves the master project. You must edit child projects separately if you want to save copies of them.

 

In addition to this you can also save skins, respositories and rescue copies.

Help Project (single file):

Save the current project in compressed, single-file format (HMXZ). This is the only format available in the Basic version of Help+Manual. Same contents as the uncompressed HMXP format, with all files saved in a compressed zip archive with the extension .hmxz.

Help Project (uncompressed XML):

Professional and Server versions only. Save the current project in uncompressed XML format (HMXP). Required for multi-user editing and linking to version control systems. You must save in an empty folder, although you can add other sub-folders yourself later. All the files are plain-text XML, including the main HMXP project file.

Skin XML file:

Professional and Server versions only. Save the current project as a skin. You can then apply the templates, styles, variables and layout it contains to other projects on publishing by selecting the skin file in the Publish dialog. See Transforming your output with skins for details.

Save as a Repository:

Professional and Server versions only. A style repository is a special uncompressed HMXP project without a table of contents. Linking it to a project makes the styles and topics in the style repository available in the project. This enables you to share a common set of styles between multiple projects and use the topics in the project as snippets, together with the styles they are defined with. See Working with Style Repositories for details.

Rescue copy:

Save an emergency copy of your unsaved work on the current project. The main purpose of this option is to enable you to save your work if you lose contact to the project you were working on. The most common case would be if your project is stored on a network drive and you lose the connection to the network drive.

Rescue copy does NOT save the entire project -- only your unsaved work!

Unlike the other options, rescue copy doesn't save the entire project.  It can't save the full project in a rescue situation, because then it doesn't have access to the main project any more. Instead, it saves YOUR unsaved work from local memory to an additional Help+Manual project.

Then, when you have access to the full project again, you can open the rescue project and copy and paste the work you would have otherwise have lost into the project.