Selecting cells and pressing Delete just deletes the contents (i.e. text, graphics etc.) of the cells, not the cells themselves. The only exception to this is when you select the entire table. If you do this and press Delete it will delete both the contents and the entire table!
Table Properties (Reference)
How table sizing works (Reference)